Item : CVA 78-071 - Supreme Court of British Columbia on the occasion of the swearing in of Justices Brown and Ruttan

Open original Digital object

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Supreme Court of British Columbia on the occasion of the swearing in of Justices Brown and Ruttan

General material designation

  • Photograph

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

AM361-S9-: CVA 78-071

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • June 19, 1956 (Creation)

Physical description area

Physical description

1 photograph : b&w, silver gelatin print ; 21 x 26 cm

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Name of creator


Custodial history

Scope and content

Item is a photograph of the Supreme Court of British Columbia sitting on the occasion of the swearing in of Justice T. W. Brown and Justice John G. Ruttan. Identified Justices in this photograph are (from left to right): T. W. Brown, H. W. McInnes, Norman William Whittaker, Alexander Malcolm Manson, Chief Justice Sherwood Lett, John Owen Wilson, John Valentine Clyne, Arthur E . Lord, John G. Ruttan. Seated in the lower row in front of the bench are Leo Menendez, Registrar of the Supreme Court, Deputy Register Wells, and S. F. M. Moodie, Sheriff of Vancouver.

Notes area

Physical condition

Three holes are punched along the top edge.

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

A digitized copy of this material is available.

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

Related materials


Physical description

Written in blue pen on verso: "Supreme Court of British Columbia / Left to Right T.W. Brown J., H.W. McInnes J. N.W. Whittaker J A.M. Manson J. / Sherwood Lett C.J. J. O. Wilson J. J. V. Clyne J. A.E. Lord J. / J.G. Ruttan J. / absent . H.S. Wood J. / A.W. Macfarlane J. / H. J. Sullican J. / bottom row Leo Menendez. Registrar of S.C. Wells Depy. Register / S.F.M. Moodie Sheriff of Vancouver / Upon the occasion of the swearing in / of Brown J. and Rutton J. - at Vancouver B.C. 19 June 1956"


Copyright: owner unknown; expiry: undetermined

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Rights area

Related right



Start date


End date

Documentation Identifier Type

Documentation Identifier Value

Documentation Identifier Role

Rights note(s)

Insufficient information to determine copyright status.

Copyright status


Copyright status determination date


Copyright jurisdiction


Copyright note





Start date


End date


insufficient information to determine copyright status.

Digital object (Master) rights area

Digital object (Reference) rights area

Digital object (Thumbnail) rights area

Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres

Container name

  • Box: 174-D-04